Review: The Voice Top Twenty – Part 2.

 

First, when talking about yesterday’s live rounds show of The Voice, let’s review the rules I established last week:

 

Rule 1: Classic songs are better than current songs.

 

We’ll stop there because it’s really the only relevant rule for Wednesday’s show. In order of appearance: (Many of these are too close to really rank.)

 

The show started with Adriana Louise (Team Xtina) taking on Katy Perry’s “Firework”. She did a near perfect rendition of the song, but it was so near perfect, there was nothing to distinguish it as Adriana’s instead of Katy’s. At this point in the game, distinctness is better than a great copy of the original. That and Rule 1 applies. The song is too new.

 

Cody Belew (Team Cee Lo) then sang George Michael’s “One More Try” and made it sound better than George ever did. Cody Belew, who would be the absolute last person I would guess would come from a rodeo background, has had perfect songs, taking on classics and making them his. I would say that Cody is totally safe except Team Cee Lo is stacked with talent this year.

 

Erkel, I mean, De’Borah (Xtina) sang P!nk’s “Who Knew” and gave it a very distinct De’Borah sound. It was a good performance, but not her best on the show. Still, she is the most charismatic person on Team Xtina, so she should be okay.

 

Diego Val (Cee Lo), at his coach’s behest, sang Enrique Iglesias’ “Bailamos”. Cee Lo’s reasoning was that the Peruvian should sing in Spanish. Diego has a great voice, but was uncomfortable with the genre and it showed, albeit, not so much to me as it did to the coaches. I think he is a very talented singer and only needs a minor makeover to get rid of that flop he’s borrowing from 1987.

 

MacKenzie Bourg (Cee Lo) sang One Direction’s “What Makes You Beautiful”. I can’t find anything wrong with his performance. He may just have a monopoly on the teen girl vote. I think he’s safe.

 

Devyn DeLoera (Xtina) Leona Lewis’ “Bleeding Love”. Another near perfect performance, for the first half of the song, after that her precision wobbled a bit. I don’t think she’s safe.

 

Another man in need of a makeover, in my eyes, though I could see him using his appearance as a distinct trademark look, Nicholas David (Cee Lo) totally nailed Barry White’s “You’re the First, the Last, My Everything”. Yes, I’m shallow. Yes, this guy can sing as well as anyone on the show. I like other people better, but I suspect Nicolas is safe.

 

Sylvia Yacoub (Xtina) sang Katy Perry’s “The One That Got Away”, thus ensuring that every Katy Perry song has been sung on The Voice that can be sung on The Voice. I don’t see “Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)” as a good song choice for anyone. I am a fan of Sylvia’s but I don’t think this was her best performance. Great, but not best.

 

Dez Duron (Xtina) gave his rendition of Hunter Hayes’ “Wanted”. I don’t know who Hunter Hayes is. I’ve never heard “Wanted” before. It made it hard for me to appreciate the performance. I suppose he sang well. I don’t know how much he made it his. Still, he appears to be a crowd favorite, which might make him safe.

 

Trevin Hunte (Cee Lo) tried to re-attain the heights he flew to in the Knockout rounds with Laura Branigan’s “How Am I Supposed to Live Without You”. He didn’t quite make it, but he still got pretty far up there. By far the safest of the night.

 

So, my preferences on who should stay and who should go.

 

Team Xtina:

 

I would like to see more of Sylvia, De’Borah and Adriana, but I suspect the outcome will be:

 

Popular votes: De’Borah and Dez.

 

Christina save: Sylvia.

 

Going home: Adriana and Devyn.

 

Team Cee Lo:

 

I would like to see Trevin, Cody and Mackenzie make the cut. Most likely outcome is:

 

Popular Votes: Trevin and Mackenzie.

 

Cee Lo save: Nicolas.

 

Going home: Cody and Diego.

 

The competition within each team was very close and there are only a few certainties in my predictions. De’Borah is the only one I’d really be willing to bet on being safe. I would be willing to bet Diego goes home also. The rest of my speculations are simply too big of a gamble.

 

I should note that everyone left on the Voice at this time (with one unnamed exception) would be a top-two finalist on any year of American Idol if vocal talent were the only factor.

 

Unfortunately, I was exaggerating when I said Katy Perry’s songs have all be sung. I love Katy’s work, but I’m sick of it being a top choice on the Voice. Unless someone really takes a song of hers and chews on it long enough to make it totally their own, I don’t want to hear any more Katy Perry impersonations.

 

Leave a Reply

